Each year, SCB is proud to sponsor the Sevier County Sevier County Education Hall of Fame and Teachers of the Year Awards. President and CEO Matthew A. R. Converse says, “This is an opportunity we have once a year to honor individuals for their lifetime commitment to education, whether they are teachers, support staff or administrators.”

Sarah Cheek, Heather Burkhart and Cindy Rule were named 2013-2014 “Teachers of the Year.”. Winners were selected by their colleagues.

Each winner was featured in a short video while classroom teaching – Cheek, representing Pi Beta Phi Elementary for primary grades (prekindergarten through 4th grade); Burkhart from Pigeon Forge Middle for middle grades (fifth through eighth grade); and Rule from Sevier County High School for secondary grades (ninth through 12th grade).

“There are few professions more important than being called to teach young people,” said Sevier County Bank President and CEO Matthew A.R. Converse. “They motivate and shape the minds of our children. We are fortunate to have a community that supports our school system and a school system that ranks among the highest programs in the state.”

The Sevier County Education Hall of Fame inducted two new members: Alice D. Carpenter, longtime teacher at Seymour High School, and Larry C. Huskey, teacher and administrator in the Sevier County School System. Christy Carpenter and Tyler Huskey accepted proclamations of appreciation and commitment to education from state Senator Doug Overbey on behalf of their parents.